Solomon Islands

Solomon Islanders, like their neighbors in Papua New Guinea, have a long history of managing their resources at the community level. Traditional ownership - wherein land and sea tenure is held by clans - prevails across the nation's numerous islands. As such, the primary method for marine conservation in the Solomon Islands is through Locally Managed Marine Areas (LMMAs). While the LMMAs of Solomon Islands are generally on the small side compared to other countries in the Coral Triangle, they are effective in maintaining benefits for local communities.

Locally Managed Marine Areas can be found in all nine provinces, from far-eastern Temotu Province through to the western end of Choiseul Province. A national-scale Gap Analysis conducted under the Convention on Biological Diversity's Program of Work on Protected Areas as well as provincial-scale "Ridges to Reefs" conservation plans approved by Choiseul and Isabel Provinces has helped to prioritize conservation areas. All of these measures have built on an already strong base of local support and further galvanized support at national levels. Of note, earlier this year the Solomon Islands National Protected Areas Act was passed by parliament, enabling local communities to place their LMMAs under formal protection while restricting the activities of extractive industries.

Download MPA Polygons   Download MPA Points   Last updated on 12 Jun 2023  



Marine Area (km2)


MPA Area (km2)


Number of MPA


Coastline (km)


Coral Reef Area (km2)


Mangrove Area (km2)